trying to take the emotion out of it.

So today I got an email telling me my son isn’t getting OT. This time they gave me the line that they always do when they tell me my kids are not being considered. I’m sorry Mrs. ____ but your son just isn’t bad enough. Well how bad do they have to be when my son is already in the first percentile (meaning out of 100, 99 kids are doing better than him)? But this time they followed it up with our mandate is to focus on grades 1-4 and since he is now outside the range he no longer is a priority, but the school OT thinks that the strategies we have in place namely dragon naturally speaking and typing are enough (neither of which have been put into practice in the classroom yet).

I am not angry, I am not even surprised. I am just a little sad. I have to come up with an appropriate response that hold them accountable (because that is what I want them to be, if not for my kids, but for future kids) and yet I don’t want to burn bridges. I have a draft my people are going over and I have put a message in to a friend that is an OT that might have an opinion. You see, if there truly is a child worse off than both my sons are, then I feel sorry for that parent and their children, but to say that what they are doing in school is enough, when it really isn’t is irresponsible. Perhaps, I could have gotten OT privately and helped my kids. I may not have due to cost, but that was not their call and if a child needs help and it can’t be done through the school they should let the parent know instead of saying “it’s just not bad enough”. Thats what happened to my eldest Tweedle to only find out last year that there were programs in place when he was younger. Now he doesn’t qualify for these programs because he is a teen and it’s too late. I am afeard that the same might be so for the middle Tweedle.

Strangely enough after getting the email, I don’t feel like eating a pie. Things might be taking a turn for the better