House Hunting Sucks

About a month ago I thought house hunting rocked. I enjoyed looking at peoples homes and the promise of something that would be our own and be where we wanted it to be was quite appealing. So fast forward to now. On friday I got a call from our realtor that he was setting up appointments for Saturday. Almost all the houses we wanted to see were already sold including one that was listed that morning. The signed were reminiscent of the early market days of 2006 (coincidentally another immediately post flood year). Back then housing prices were pretty much going up $1000/day. A nice average home (that we were looking at back then ) went for around $260,000 now they go for $450+. It’s really sick. Anyway we were obviously priced out of the market in a like a month back then. Never mind The Mad Hatter was going to school.

So Yesterday, with this thought in my mind, I am feeling the pressure and realizing that for what we need, we can’t get where we want. We travel to what feels like an eternity away to look at houses. Enter our first open house. Walk into a large home with a beautiful view that smell of cigarette smoke. The carpet on all levels seems like it has lived an eventful life. I want to do some work on a house but I don’t think I’m ready for a full gut. Anyway we walk in and like 10 couples are leaving. The realtor pipes up that he already has 2 offers and the way the day has been going, it reminds him of 2006.

I figuratively wanted to through up right then and there. I literally wanted to cry but didn’t. You see it takes me months and many visits to buy a pair of shoes for $40 and now I’m asked to drop $XXX,XXX amount in an area I don’t want to live (because we can’t afford where we are) and to do it in hours. If I don’t we could be priced out of the market again. This goes against every cell in my body. We saw one more house after and it was nice. There was some weird stuff about it but a lot I liked. When we got in the car to go home The Mad Hatter asked me what I thought and I just started to cry. I cried because I don’t want to leave friends. And I mostly cried because of all the work I have done at the school and now I get to rip my children away from what few friends they have. We didn’t make an offer but I see the writing on the wall. I need a miracle. My one rich uncle died years ago and we didn’t see a thing so I’m doubtful. Oh my heart hurts right now.

I couldn’t go home right away as I was afraid I would loose it in front of the kids. So I made Husband and I go check out the Lindt Store that is near our house cause chocolate cures everything (well almost everything) and who knows, this may be the last time I get to go to it.

Leave a Reply

