you are what you eat.

Lately my legs and knees (especially the left one) have been quite achy. I can’t say that it’s really because I have been doing a whole lot, because I haven’t. I want to, but the timing is all wrong. I’m still working out bugs in my schedule. Anyway, I have taken it easier these last three weeks (aside from the long run on saturday) but my legs wake up sore and get worse through the day.

It could be a number of things really. It could be the extra 8 lbs I’m carrying. It could be that my shoes aren’t supportive enough. Or, it could be my diet. Actually it could be a combination of all three and more, but I can’t help but wonder if what I am eating could be causing inflammation and consequently pain. I am currently 23 days without a caffeinated or diet beverage so yay me, but my sugar intake has increased. I have also noticed that the last 2 days I have consumed a lot of tomatoes which are night shade vegetables. Normally this wouldn’t bother me but my knee is acting up again and when I see joint pain and nightshades  together I get a little concerned. I am thinking of trying an elimination diet, but I need to read up on how to do that.

I remember a time that I could eat anything I wanted and seemingly there was no consequence, but now I really see my body holding me accountable. It always will.

5 thoughts on “you are what you eat.

  1. Night Shade vegetable include potatoes, peppers (sweet and hot), egg plant, and tomatoes. I don’t know the relation why but I have heard it for years.

Leave a Reply

