giving up

So Wednesday feb 13 was the beginning of lent, and although I am not catholic, I decided, I have something I needed to give up. I didn’t always have this addiction to pop. In fact growing up we only had it on “special occasions”. In high school, I will admit that I had the occasional coke for breakfast. When I was working retail and was tired I would go and get a Pepsi. But really, I could get along without it. That was until child #3.

For some reason (pure exhaustion) I needed it. It peaked in the last year as a daily treat (sometimes multiple daily treat). Then somewhere along the way it became a de-stressor. When my kids were cruddy or I had bitten off more than I could chew or when life threw junk at me, I would turn to a nice cold glass of bubbly goodness. Also due to the frequency I changed over to diet.

This isn’t the first time I tried to give this up. I managed to go without before, but when my time was done I just reverted to the old ways. I am now officially in my second week and the headaches have started. I knew this would happen, but it seems worse this time. My stomach is reacting terribly this time too. I’m getting cramps and nausea, that although I have been exposed to viruses, I am pretty sure it’s not related. I’m not entirely sure the stomach issues are caffeine withdrawal symptoms, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they were. The cravings started at 4 days in, but they haven’t been anything I can’t handle.

Anyway, I can’t wait till I feel better. I actually can, but I can’t. So I will and because this has been crummier, I’m hoping not to take it up again.

4 thoughts on “giving up

  1. You can do this! When I realize I’ve gone crazy with sugars I have to do that. The cravings do subside but the first couple of weeks of withdrawal are nasty. Hang in there!

    • I know I can do this and after the pop is gone, I plan on getting rid of refined sugars. Thank goodness for pain killers. I tried last night to go without them but 6 hours in it turned into a migraine. I woke up at 4:30 this morning and I can feel it starting again.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

