The Good Earth

A few weeks ago we rented a tiller of the roto kind. It was a mantis and it was crazy. That thing has a mind of it’s own and if you are not careful it will run away with yours.

We got got said tiller to continue the battle against the dandelions. Every year we go at it and every year they ultimately win. But not this year! We are also preparing the soil for our garden.

I’m following my smart gardener plan as close as possible, weather permitting. Today Tweedle 3 and I filled the bed that was supposed to be filled last year. Hey I do what I can, and last year I was sick… and a little tired.

Yesterday I watched this Back to Eden video an Evangelical look at gardening. It’s a bit churchy and great if you like that sort of thing and I do (sometimes), but that may be just me. I think I may have had a couple of ah ha experiences. Anyway churchiness aside, it still had good information about mulches and what I think people call passive tilling.

By the end of the week we should have our peas and carrots in. I’m so excited and can’t wait to taste the fruits of our labours.

Leave a Reply

