Anyone Got Farm I Can Borrow?

I only need it for a week. You see we have reached what I like to call the midsummer crisis. Just like the midlife crisis, we have reached a point where we don’t like what we are doing but not sure what to do next.

Anyway a friend of mine got to take her kids to a farm. They are learning to work, but because it’s a farm, the work is fun. I want my kids to learn to work. I want them to be proud of their abilities and what they accomplish at the end of the day. I also want them to have fun.

I try to get them to do their chores before we have fun, but the fun always seem to fall back to TV and the wii. I hate the TV and the wii. I want my kids to be outside, but alas we live in an area where the kids are few and far between, and the kids that are around are in camps.

So if you have got a farm and want some free-ish labour (we do need room and board) look me up.

2 thoughts on “Anyone Got Farm I Can Borrow?

  1. Funnily enough…I was just searching last night for farm stays. I would love for the boys to spend even a weekend on a “real” farm. I don’t consider the grandparent’s farm real because there are no animals. Just grain. Borrrrring!
    My sister’s family and friends of theirs have rented a farm for a week. Found on vrbo.com. Complete with horses, donkeys, chickens, turkeys and the like.
    I wonder if you contacted any of the CSA farms in the area if they would be willing….or know of someone who is?? Just a thought. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear how it works out for ya!

  2. I think your boys should build a fort. D. is old enough to be able to use a handsaw with supervision, E. could hammer, and J. could be in charge of handing out nails. If you go to construction zones you can get plywood and 2×4 off cuts for free out of their garbage piles and it’s a great long term project that once they are done building it they can play in it. You could set up consequeses for not finishing the project and rewards like sleeping in it for finishing. You could also say that at the end of fall they can tear it all apart (almost as fun as building it) and cut it into small peices and burn it in your fire bowl. That way you don’t have to deal with a rotting eyesore through the winter and next spring. If I had the space that’s what I’d do.

Leave a Reply

