Sorry Afghanistan

I should lean not to “experiment” when making stuff for other people. Especially when it’s for a bake sale. Remember when I thought I was Flipping Brilliant? Well apparently I still think I am, and I went on a slight rant about how great I am. Luckily that rant only occurred in front of my immediate family who are used to me being so awesome.

Anyway the rant started all because my eldest Tweedle is having a bake sale to raise money for Afghanistan. His Language Arts class is reading the book The Breadwinner, by Deborah Ellis and together they thought it would be good to raise money to go to the making of schools for children. I had no idea… and then I get this email from the school. “remember the bake sale that is to take place on ….. Come out and support us.” I wondered what do I have to do to get in on the baking action. After all I am a flipping genius.

Well long story short, an opening came up and Tweedle D knew he should ask me to make those Lemon Meringue cupcakes. Unfortunately the day I was to bring the cupcakes, I didn’t have a car so refrigeration and transportation was a problem. To solve half the problem I decided I would use Meringue to top them instead of whipped cream. Some other changes were an accident. I used large cupcake papers instead of Jumbo. These two things combined made for cementing the paper, which peeled so nicely the night before, to the fragile walls… so when one tries to eat it they fall apart. Yay.

They still taste good but I am afraid some students might be upset when the cupcakes fall on the floor or on their clothes. After all food does taste better in your mouth than on your shirt.

3 thoughts on “Sorry Afghanistan

  1. You wrote this so well that I’ve reread it a few times. I’m trying to get to the point where I can read it without giggling, because, of course, you sure weren’t when it all “went down…” But it still makes me giggle.

    Maybe you should think of being a less flipping brilliant writer so we can all feel sorry for you. 😉

  2. I agree with Zen Mama – flipping brilliant writing and I had way too much fun giggling as I read it. I hope your cupcakes were a success, and I’m sure they were delicious.

Leave a Reply

