Books of 2010 (Part One Kids Books)

I was thinking of doing a year in review, but then realized, since the second half of the year kinda sucked. Not for me personally. A kind of gloomy cloud of greyness, just waiting for the next miserable news of pain and hurt to reach someone close to me. The weather seemed to match. We didn’t have a summer and so far our winter is biting. So instead of reliving all that crap that I really shouldn’t be sharing, cause its not mine to share, I decided to focus on the books I have read this past year and what I think of them. This might help you in your escape into literature… you know when things are getting crummy, or when the wind is howling, or the cable is out. Umm you get the idea.

Disclaimer: I am in no way a literary scholar, I am a science girl, but I do know what I like and what I don’t like.

Inkheart by: Cornelia Funke

This book is fun and suspenseful. I really like the authors writing style, however this book is very long. If you only have a few minutes at night to read, this can take a while. I would recommend this book to anyone from 8 to 80. ♥♥♥ 1/2

Inkspell by Cornelia Funke

This book is the second in the INK trilogy. The characters enter the story and find it has changed. In fact it seems to have a life of it’s own. There is more to what is going on than what is on the page. I like this book more than the first, but found the ending less than satisfying. Maybe my questions will be resolved in the 3rd book.

My complaints: This book is marketed as a children’s book/ young adult fiction. I would not classify it as such for adult themes such as infidelity and adultery come up. The “B” word was used on more than one occasion. I books that are marketed to children, I believe, that there should be no swearing of any kind. I will not be reading this to my children. ♥♥♥ 1/2

Percy Jackson and The Olympians

The Lightning Thief, The Titans Curse, The Sea of Monsters, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian.

by: Rick Riordan

This series is definitely geared to the tween male. With battles, monsters, wit and sarcasm, the author makes Greek mythology come alive.

The main character, Percy, has ADHD and Dyslexia. They are traits he inherited from his father a Greek god. The fact that Rick Riordan to something so many children struggle with, and made them Heros has won me over. The witty writing sealed the deal. This is not a deep book, but it is fun. My boys absolutely love me reading it to them. The only problem I had with the series is the frequent use of taking their “gods name in vain” which is seems to be the vernacular of the day. That is why I read it to them. If that kinda thing doesn’t bother you then really there isn’t anything that bad in the book. Heck anything that can get my boys excited about reading is awesome.  The final book also gives a very satisfying ending to series. ♥♥♥♥♥

Holes by: Louis Sachar

When Stanley Yelnats, is sent to a work camp for a crime he didn’t commit, he discovers that there is more than just work and discipline going on. This book creativley intertwines 3 story lines into a very satisfying finish.

I enjoyed this as much the second time as I did the first.  There are some dark moments. So age suggestion would be 7 and up, but you know your kids best. ♥♥♥♥

The Alchemyst by: Michael Scott

The author is not the fictional character in “The Office” he is a real person… with feelings. Hahaha I crack my self up.

This is the opening book in “The Secrets of the immortal Nicolas Flammel” series. This book was a quick and easy read. I could tell the author did his research. However I think he tried to cram too much knowledge from different mythologies into one book. There were moment when his imagery really drew me in and then there were moments when it was a little over the top and in your face. I think he could have used more subtlety. I am interested in reading the others in the series, but I don’t know that I would buy them to complete this task. ♥♥♥

Well folks that it for the “kids books”. 9 books, pretty good for a person who isn’t a bookworm. stay tuned for the more adult fiction… not Adult fiction XXX. If you know what I mean.

2 thoughts on “Books of 2010 (Part One Kids Books)

  1. The only one I haven’t read on this list is “The Alchemyst”. So you think Aiden would like it?
    Oh wait. I guess I haven’t read the second Ink book. It’s on my list.
    I love all the others, however. And it was fun reading “Holes” then watching the movie with the boys right after. Good movie that stays SO close to the book. (It helps that the author wrote the screenplay, I’m sure. 😉 )

    • Yah he will probably like it. Just so he knows that this has nothing to do with Harry Potter. I can’t say there was anything I thought inappropriate. There are some scary Alfred Hitchcock moments involving birds. Other than that. Its pretty ok.

Leave a Reply

