The Importance of Being Earnest.

For some reason, I am sure I have used this title before, but I couldn’t find it in the last few years posts. Truthfully I didn’t look that hard. I guess I should have been more earnest. Anyway *raising eyebrows*.

Today I finished what I could of delivering out route for the city wide food drive.  My intentions were to have them all done by … ahem … yesterday. Life happened and I have a 3 year old who fell asleep, right before I was going to go out. I’m ok with toting him along in a stroller, but I want him to be able to let me know he is being kidnapped while I hike 20 steps up to “the people’s” mailbox to deliver their bag. I know I have an over active imagination and probably should have gone out last night. No one is going to steal my sleeping baby right.

So this morning in the pouring rain (my own fault I left it this late) we endeavored to finish the route. Hopefully this is enough time for people to go a get something for the hungry. My intentions were to put said 3 year old in stroller and knock off the task ASAP.  He wasn’t having any of it. “I waaaannnnnnt tooooo waaaaaalk!” says he. He snuck out of his stroller (he’s a hoodini like that) and grabbed a bag and started climbing stairs. I was miffed at first. I wanted to just get it done. But something came over me and I began to think it was more important that he do this.

He didn’t know what we were doing this for, all he wanted to do was help and be big. Just so happens on this street most of the mailboxes are at a hight he can reach. If he couldn’t reach the mailbox he would climb up walls or get me to reach it. He was having such a delightful time and guess what? So was I, more fun than trying to get him quite his screaming while running up and down stairs.

I began thinking. Often, when it comes to our kids, we try to get a less than pleasant activity done, by strapping them in and not letting them participate. “Quick and Painful” is sometimes our motto. We are doing our task, trying to set a good example for them all the while giving them the vocabulary of excuses why not to do things, “Its too wet”, “You’re too young.”, “I need to be fast.”, “You don’t know what to do.”, “You don’t listen” et cetera, et cetera, et cetera. Maybe when possible we should go the “Slow and Delightful” way. They learn they can do it and we learn what great little people they are. Tweedle 3 and I had such a good time and I came away laughing and loving him more.

5 thoughts on “The Importance of Being Earnest.

  1. As he gets older (and you get older) you will be glad of his help. For that you need to teach him to be a good helper. Seems like you both did a great job.

  2. That’s so awesome. I mean, it’s so easy to forget that part of taking on service projects is to help develop the hearts of our kids. How can we possible do it without letting them do it. Yet sometimes we try. Congrats on your inspired moment. It reminds me of D, E, and Em delivering invitations that Christmas. Another one of your Character building triumphs.

  3. You are such a great mom…I totally would do the same thing thinking I just wanted to get it over with, but I am sure he loved it. And yes I too left mine to do in the dreary rain too, not fun!!!

Leave a Reply

