Birthday Eve

It used to be when I would tell someone how old I was, they would act all surprised. They would tell me how I looked about 8 years younger, but not this year. I let it slip and all people have said is “mmmhmmm” confirming my worst fears. Ok maybe not my worst fears, but age related yes. Maybe others see what I see. My lines and my poor skin.

I thought I would be someone who was proud of every year they earned and wear it with pride. But vanity has gotten the best of me and I admit I have briefly considered botox. I won’t do it. I can’t justify the cost and I have a thing against putting extract of Clostridium botulinum into my skin, muscle, whatever.

It’s not just my appearance that I have noticed falling apart. When I was 29 I put on some weight. My metabolism slowed down. It seems this past year is another one of those kinds of years. Then again I haven’t been treating myself all that well for half of it. Maybe it was the “treating” that got me to this point.

The thing is I don’t feel old, and I am positive in 10 years I will loath this post, because I wasn’t enjoying the youth that I have. I wasn’t celebrating my health and I waisted my time and abilities whining “blah, blah, blah, old, blah, blah, blah, sore joints, blah, blah, BLAH!”

I don’t know if I have anything more to say about this. I don’t want to be a downer, but today I am still thirty six and even though I forgot my wallet, then went home, then forgot a diaper, then went home, then forgot when my appointment was for tomorrow, and realized I must have some other appointment on some other day at 9:00 am that I forgot about (please universe call and remind), I still don’t look or feel like her.
I was going to insert a picture of a 37 year old person from the internet that looked less than awesome, but all I could find was hot celebs. That didn’t make me feel better. SO FORGET IT.

Maybe I will feel better tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Birthday Eve

  1. hey sista, pick your socks up and go get yourself a new cute shirt. You’re a hotty and I hope you have an awesome day tomorrow.

    Love yah!

  2. Wanna trade? You can be 45 and I’ll take 37. (It’s okay, though. Lots of people think I’m 10 years younger than I am. If I could figure out how to fake enthusiasm for 90s music, I might be able to get away with it. So long as nobody expected me to read any fine print.)

  3. Happy Birthday! I keep thinking that if I had all those special potions and creams (and Dr.’s) and a trainer and a nanny I could look like that too! At least I don’t think I look like I used to think someone turning 40 would look like when I was a kid…

    Celebrate and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

