Ring Out Wild Bells

Actually I dislike this hymn, but it is fitting for the end of the year and the end of a decade.

This past year has been one of promise and disappointment. Like everyone else I started with plans for improvement in health and finances, but this summer we hit some bumps in the road and find ourselves exactly where we were before. No better and No worse. I guess you could say we maintained. I should be grateful for that I suppose. I am not sad to see 2009 go away except for the fact that I will be that much closer to middle age.

This past decade began with the Y2K fear, culminated less than a year later in the 911 tragedy and has been one of war, and discontent. I have found in the last 10 years there have been good times, some prospered, but others are really hurting. I don’t see much change for the immediate future but I have a hope that it will.

That is a great thing… HOPE. Hope is like a candle burning in the darkness, a beacon for all to see. A light to guide the way. My wish this New Year is that everyone finds hope and may your candle burn bright to guide the way for others.

3 thoughts on “Ring Out Wild Bells

  1. Happy New Year, Alyson! I, too, have great hope for this new year and new decade.

    (oh, and on Sunday when we sang “Ring Out Wild Bells” my mother-in-law wispered to me, “I just can’t stand this song.” I think you two would get along well.)

  2. I am not familiar with this song, so I checked out YouTube to see if I could rectify the situation, and it turns out I cannot. There are so many different versions of something called “Ring Out Wild Bells” that I don’t know which one you might be referring to.

    Oh, and I stopped by to say “Happy New Year” too!

Leave a Reply

