Method

Just had interview #1 for a piano teacher today. He was very professional, and highly qualified. He recieved a music degree in London Ontario, taught a kingston and has taught at mount royal for 15 years. Now he does private lessons.

He said he only uses the sizuki method of piano as it trains the students to read music better. He also says that it is faster than most methods. He tells me that at the end of 3 books of sizuki, the children will enter conservatory music at grade 4. I started out in sizuki, but switched when we switched piano teachers when I was young.

His preference is to have the parent beside the child at the piano lesson so they know what is going on, and so they will ask the questions most children don’t. He also says that all his students have about an hour long lesson. He charges a flat rate of $120/ month for each student. Some months they get 4 lessons some months they get 5. Still have a few more to go but I am very impressed. I think he is out of our price range. No wonder he can afford such a nice place.

6 thoughts on “Method

  1. Interesting.
    I have zero experience with the Suzuki method. As a child the rumour going around was that the suzuki children could NOT read music, but did it all by ear. (?) I’d be interested to hear about your other interviews, as well!

  2. Wow you are fast I just put that up. I asked him about that because I heard that too. He said most people think that because it come with recordings, but he doesn’t have the children listen to the recordings, if at all, until they are well into the song. He said the recordings are just for polishing.

  3. I don’t know about Suzuki piano, but I know violinists that were Suzuki trained who are great with anything aural, but suck at actually reading music. It all depends on the approach of the individual teacher, however.

    Hour long lessons seem very excessive for young children. I personally won’t teach hour long lessons until the kid is at least in high school. Younger only if they are some kind of a prodigy (but then I wouldn’t be teaching them. I’d pass them on to a much more competant teacher).

    I say keep looking.

  4. I had the same thought about the hour-long lessons. It doesn’t seem like the way to go with young kids. You don’t want them to end up hating music lessons. It should be enjoyable for them.

  5. With regard to the hour-long lessons: I agree that it seems excessive. As a student I didn’t “graduate” to hour-long lessons until at least grade 5 (I think? maybe later?) As a parent I would worry about what Karen said, that the child would resent it quickly. As a teacher I can’t believe he’d do that to himself. Now I don’t know the Suzuki Method at all, but I often feel with beginning students that it’s hard enough some days to fill the 30 minutes. An hour just seems painful.

  6. I never had 1 hour lessons either and I had lessons until I was 17. An hour does seem long and maybe he would be half the price if his lessons were shorter. Good luck in your search!

Leave a Reply

