“For The Love of Pete.”

I truly believe I came up with that phrase. I remember saying it when I was very young and every one else was saying “For the love of God.” I being young thought that was a swear (as in taking the lords name in vain) and most of me still does.

Now why Pete. Well there is some logic to that. When I was younger there were a lot of St. Peter jokes so I thought some one else that the world thought a little Holy should be substituted so I started saying “For the Love of Pete.”

Unfortunately I never “coined it” and therefore don’t receive any credit or royalties. I would prefer the credit though money would be nice. I’m sure the person who came up with the Childhood poem “Alyson and Wonderful sitting in a tree. K-I-S-S-I-N-G…etc.” feels the same way. I would like to know who made that up, just as I am sure there is someone out there who would like to know where the phrase “For the Love of Pete” came from.

This however is not the point of my post. The phrase came out a need to express ones frustration with undesirable situations that befall them in life.

Well friends, I am so there. As some of you know I am a property manager. I look after 8 units. I get a monthly commission and a break on my rent. Part of my job is dealing with people, the other part is books. Lets just say I prefer the books.

I find the older I get the more I don’t want to have to deal with people and their baggage, filth, whatever. Especially people I would not choose to associate with under any other circumstances. Its one thing to choose to be exposed to their junk, its another to be forced to deal with it.

I am already looking forward to the day that I can pack it all in and move away to a far off remote Island where no one will bother me and I don’t have to clean up after anyone, referee their petty fights, or have rotten fruit thrown at my window because I was there bearer of bad news. Wait I’m a mom. I guess that won’t go away entirely.

O how I wish I could say more. Maybe one day I will write a book. “The Moment I Became A Cat woman (A Property Managers Diary).” Get it Cat Woman, an old lady alone with cats. I think the play on words would be enough to sell millions. If the phrase “Cat Woman” catches on for Hermitish old women surrounded by cats, then you know where you heard it first and give me the credit I deserve.

One thought on ““For The Love of Pete.”

  1. We were property managers once for about 3 years. The people never got to me too much but the OWNER…oh my…FOR THE LOVE OF PETE (hehe) she was completely insane. SHe called us once to tell us that she had been at the building and the storage shed door was left open (broken into AGAIN)…she drove 45 minutes across town t her house to CALL us to tel us to close the shed door. We simply said, “UM, why didn’t you close it while you were here?”. GAH! Because of her we vowed NEVER to manage again even if we had to move in with or parents! I feel (have felt) your pain!
    K.

Leave a Reply

