A Promised Kept

Two years ago I was throwing up into bucket while sleeping on my mom’s couch. Two years ago I felt guilty for not attending a remembrance day ceremony even though I had never before and couldn’t at that time do so.

Last year remembrance day happened without me. I don’t remember much about it except that when I read everyones blogs, I realized I had forgotten. Maybe I was in the throws of taking care of a newborn and handling Tweedle E’s scholastic problems, then again maybe I wasn’t because after all I really don’t remember.

This year however I took the boys to the Military Museum and we attended a ceremony. I was surprised at how many people showed up, for I had never been to one and to my knowledge knew no one that had attended. Although we had to leave a little early because my one-year-old wasn’t having anymore, I think it was a good experience. I was overwhelmed with a feeling of gratitude and sadness for the necessity that requires mothers to send their children out to war (or mothers who have to leave their children to go to war). I was sad for the loss of life and at the same time grateful that there are people out there who will voluntarily give of their lives, for even if they live they are forever changed by the horror they experience. The casualties of war are not only deaths.

I admit I got a little teary eyed. I’m glad I went and I’m glad I took the boys. We did not let this day pass without remembering.

The next day Tweedle 3 and I went to the School and attended their Remembrance Day Assembly. I cried there too.

2 thoughts on “A Promised Kept

  1. Good for you Al! Good for you for going and for remembering. “Those who do not remember history are doomed to repeat it” I hope that we all continue to remember.

Leave a Reply

