Alyson The Runner

I’m sorry for not being on here sooner. With my sensitive internet connection and my lack of time since school started I’m surprised I made it on here now. That being said I am here for a good time not a long time. Yes that was lame but I am out of practice so pbbbbbt!

I’m not sure I should mention this because usually when I tell the world I’m going to do something, I don’t follow through. I don’t stop intentionally, I think, but something happens and well I end up stopping and then I’m embarrassed. So with fear of being a quitter, and you all finding that out, I am announcing that I am entering a new phase of my life. Today I started running. I made a goal that next July I will enter a 5K (3M) fun run and possibly a 10K (6M) in September. 

This is truly big as I am one who hates running, but today with the help of a few nice, patient ladies I ran about 3k (1.8M) non stop and then walked-ran another 3K. The plan is to be on my own twice a week and with them once. I will try to run through the winter, but lets face it I’m a wimp. If I pass that hump I think I will be set.  I really hope I am Alyson the Runner and not Alyson the Quitter.

4 thoughts on “Alyson The Runner

  1. Wow — good for you!
    I am not a runner in any shape or form. I admire runners. I wish I was a runner. I have tried. But the reality is, I hate it. 😀

    I’m sending you all my “I wish I was a runner” thoughts to buoy you up, as I have no intention of using them for at least another year! By then, you’ll be set.

    That’s how it works, right? Right?

  2. I know what you mean about the quitting thing. It’s the bane of my existence. I hope you find this enjoyable and get a lot out of it and meet your goal. But in the meantime, enjoy the social part of it, running with the other women.

  3. WOWEEE!! I’m so proud for you and envious!
    We’ll all be cheering you on from the sidelines and super envious of your tenacity and lovely runners legs!:)

Leave a Reply

