The Fun Part of Moving

Recently I made private a post on my travails in moving because although relevant and real, I may offend. As much as I am chomping at the bit for hate mail I need not lose a friend. So in the private annuls of my “Journal” is where it will remain.

With that I would like to focus on the positive side of moving. This move in particular is exciting for we are not taking with us all of the stuff that people have dumped so lovingly given us when they were upgrading themselves. We will be donating the stuff that is in “good condition” and junking the rest.

So what do I get to buy? I get to purchase a sofa, chesterfield, couch thingy. The thing is Mr. Wonderful and I are of different minds when it comes to style. I like clean lines and he likes something that feels good on his bum. Two years ago we were checking out sofas and all the ones I liked were too hard to his tender tushy. All the ones he looked like looked like marshmallows. Ugh! FFWRD to the present. We decided that now that we have room to have someone stay over we might purchase a sofa bed. An Ikea one in particular as they are lighter and easier to move. My dream would be chocolate brown leather, but I agreed that we needed to be practical and thrifty so we went and checked them out at our local Ikea. Amazingly after 15 min we agreed this.manstad-sofa-bed-2

It had clean lines and was surprisingly comfortable. But… Ikea didn’t anticipate its popularity and now they are back ordered for at least 6 months. What am I gonna do? Do I wait? Do I get something else? The thing is this particular model is very affordable.

Since I can’t solve that one now lets move to the bedroom. As some of you know for my anniversary my husband stood in the middle of the bed section of Ikea and said pick which frame you want. Now I needed to choose one that would be compatible with a box-spring so that limited my choices. I eventually chose this:Hemnes Queen Bed

But then soon found out that all of our storage shelves we had purchase here would not fit due to gabled roof. Then I considered the armoire/dresser of a traditional flare and realized that this might neither be affordable or aesthetically pleasing. So I’m thinking of going with this:
Noresund Queen Bed

and it will go better with this wardrobe:Apslund wardrobe as we need one for the closets are tinier that the one we have now. I didn’t think that was possible but it is.

Anyway if you have any suggestions as to what we should do let me know. Thanks.

7 thoughts on “The Fun Part of Moving

  1. I know I’ve been out of the loop for a while, but I totally missed that you were moving!!! This is good news, right? YAY!

    My BIL has the sofa bed you pictured above, in a beautiful chocolate colour. I’ve slept on it, lounged on it, and sat on it. I really like it. I say if you like it, it’s worth the wait!

  2. This is the fun part of moving! The reward for all the pain. The sofa looks great. We’ve had some challenges trying to buy furniture too. If you love it and can’t find another comparable then wait. Hopefully you’ll have it for a long time.
    The bed looks cool too.

    Congrats on your new place!

  3. OOOOH! I LOVE those choices! If only I had an Ikea up here…currently our living room set (for which we have no furniture) has been on order since January 1, 2008. It had to come from CHINA?! It will not get to Seattle until JUNE. *sigh*. Isn’t furniture shopping grand?

    K.

  4. IKEA customer service is really good, so waiting would be worth it. (You don’t want to end up with a couch that looks like a marshmallow, do you?)

    Either of those two beds are great. If you are in the market for furniture, make *frequent* trips to IKEA. Sometimes they have in-store sales on items (not AS IS, in the box) that aren’t in the catalog or online. Get to know your local IKEA store. Hey, the $1 breakfasts aren’t bad.

  5. Ooooh…I love that couch! I didn’t see it last time I was at Ikea.

    And, we have the wrought-iron bed frame you are thinking of. We really like it, but I’m sick of the design. We got ours 3 years ago. If you do go with that one, don’t get the matching end tables, they suck and don’t stay together and are wobbly.

  6. Nice picks! I can’t wait until we can do that too. Brad and I also liked a similar chesterfield from ikea. Is it back ordered at both ikeas? Edmonton, maybe?

Leave a Reply

