Banana Bread 1.0

I have always liked cooking and baking. My love for eating is greater and unfortunately my baking has been feeding my ever widening bum. I was recently (within the last two years) shocked to find out that snacks I thought were more healthy were equally as bad for you as a candy bar where calories and fat were concerned.

I am also concerned about how much of my families food they eat isn’t real food. Somewhere in the 80’s and 90’s people thought it was ok just to eat nutrients and not food. I am trying to get back to natural whole foods (in most areas) So my recipe won’t include a synthetic sweetener or just egg whites commercially separated. I however can’t bring myself to use whole milk. For one I don’t chew my milk I have a hard time swallowing 2%. Secondly I’m trying to reduce my intake of fat and whole milk has a lot of fat.

Anyway here is my attempt to have a lower fat, calorie reduced slice of banana bread. I have my own flax and coffee grinder but you can buy flax meal (bobs red mill is pretty good) at the grocery store. Just store the meal in you fridge or freezer to maintain the nutritional value and freshness.
Dry Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat flour
½ cup white flour
½ cup ground flax
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
½ tsp cinnamon

Wet Ingredients

½ cup low fat or fat free milk
2 tbsp oil (vegetable)
1 omega egg beaten
½ cup brown sugar
2 smushed bananas
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven at 350 F. In separate bowls mix the wet ingredients together and then the dry. If mixing by hand, combine dry ingredients until a homogenous mixture. Make a well and add the wet ingredients. Mix until just combined. Spray a loaf pan. Pour the batter in the pan. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes.

Calories per slice assuming 10 slices: 87 – 100 calories
A typical slice of banana bread is about 265 calories.

Happy eating.

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread 1.0

  1. Not that I do a lot of baking these days, but I like the idea of still using natural ingredients to make a lower fat, lower calorie version of a recipe. Using artificial sweeteners and other commercially prepared substitutes seems counterintuitive (though I guess it works for some people).

Leave a Reply

