A Face Without Freckles is Like a Sky Without Stars (Something Like That Anyway)

I was talking with my sister about how as humans we seem to celebrate the baseness of our existence. In art if it isn’t edgy, it isn’t good (most of the time). That led to a discussion on what messages we are sending our children and how hard it is to find something both uplifting and good. Lets face it there is a lot of mediocre good out there. So when my sister came across Natasha’s new CD she was well pleased and we both thought the world (or at least you) should know. I asked her to review it for me as I have not heard it yet. So without further ado, here is my sister making her blogging debut with her review. Check it out.

So for the last couple of weeks I have been listening to Natasha Bedingfield’s new CD while driving in my car and I have to say, I am really enjoying it. For a change I can listen to something current, creative, and clean and I didn’t have to shop in the kid section for it. If you liked Natasha’s last CD you will like this one too. Her sound is very similar but I would have to say there may be more hits and fewer misses on this album. My favorite song is the first one. The lyrics start… “The original feeling never went away/ that’s why I’m standing here today/ ” and it just improves from there.

With Natasha, we seem to be able to count on getting quite a positive message without it being too sugary or trite. The music is very like her previously released songs. To me the melodies are pleasing but take unexpected twists and turns and the harmonies and counter melodies add layers and layers of sound. It is cool. If the character “donkey” from Shrek were here, he would say that the music of Natasha Bedingfield was like a parfait, a parfait has layers and who doesn’t like a parfait. All in all, I would give it 4/5 stars

Carrie

3 thoughts on “A Face Without Freckles is Like a Sky Without Stars (Something Like That Anyway)

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review | Alyson’s Wonderland

Leave a Reply

