The Winter of Our Discontent

I don’t know exactly what that means. I haven’t read Steinbeck. (I plan too, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.) I suppose it could mean that you are at the end of your discontent. The logic being that winter is at the end of the year (not so in New Zealand) and winter is sometimes a symbol for death, which is an end. The phrase could also mean being at the most bleakest part of your discontent. Winter can be very bleak (like today) with sideways snow and temperatures that make one want to avoid life altogether. You can feel this bleakness swallowing you up to which you see no end. I hypothesize that Steinbeck meant the latter but again I don’t know for I have never read it. Fortunately for me, despite the dismal winter day I am not feeling my usual winter sadness. Maybe its because the boys are home.

 

Today we awoke to horrifically subzero temperatures with a wind chill approaching -50. No one wanted to leave he house. I was trying to figure out a way to avoid hauling tweedle 3 outside. The boys were at the breakfast table considering petitioning the Almighty for some temporary vehicular homicide (car not starting). When my husband, the bravest of men came in from clearing the sidewalk and starting the van said, “ I don’t think you should go out today and if today wasn’t payroll I wouldn’t be going out either.” A silent cheer echoed (is that possible?) in our kitchen for the youngest tweedle was still resting. I didn’t need his permission to stay home its just that I didn’t want to say “uncle” first. Humans should not be allowed to live here. Anyway after that our brave hero put on his outer vestments and faced the torturous wind and drifts to make money for his cozy family and enable others to receive there compensation as well.

 

So no I’m surprisingly not blah today but talk to me in a few. This is supposed last a while.

4 thoughts on “The Winter of Our Discontent

  1. Since you got me all curious with your discussion, I had to look up the origin of the phrase. (If anyone else is interested you can read up on it here.)

    But anyway, I know that feeling of not wanting to say “uncle”, then being greatly relieved when someone else says that I should do what I really want to do.

  2. I find the weather hasn’t bothered me as much this year. I guess because I don’t HAVE to go outside most days. Nope, we just stay inside until we’re crazy and sick to death of each other. But warm!

Leave a Reply

