Land of The Midnight Mommies

It is 3:10 am and I am at my computer because I am just not sure if my wee babe (sick with cold) is going to settle. He had a skin reaction last night, to what I don’t know, but I decided to pull back and not solid feed him just incase. Now I am paying for it.

I am also up because I needed to clean my living room. This is the best time to do it because there are less distractions. I don’t like to make a habit of this as insomnia runs in my family and this is a pattern not worth keeping. But instead of lying there thinking “I have so much to do and so little time.” I decided to do something about it.

The only reason I tell you these things is to unite the midnight mommies. There is a feeling of comfort in knowing that there are others somewhere in the world like me and I hope it is the same for them as well. It is another way of feeling not so alone. The only problem is when you become one of us you turn into a zombie when exposed to daylight.

4 thoughts on “Land of The Midnight Mommies

  1. I didn’t know there was an actual “land”!! 😀 It *is* nice to know there are other moms like me… up at all hours of the night for various reasons. My reason is usually not that I *have* to be up, but I enjoy the peace and quiet and the chance to think on my own. However, yes, I am a zombie the next day. I’m still trying to figure out how to get that alone time and NOT be a zombie.

  2. Oh yes…you can find me regularly up at 3am for various reasons, insomnia and a babe are two of my culprits too! Be strong…zombie moms of the world unite! Hehe.

    Kris

  3. The population in this land is larger than we all think!
    What scares me is that when I am up late (like last night) and then up several times through the night for either the littlest one or the toddler….the next day, I don’t feel any different than if I slept through the night uninterrupted.

  4. When my mother was up with me at all hours of the night she used to keep the light on in. She said she hoped that anyone passing by would feel sorry for her that she was up.

    I’ve been trying really hard to be an allumnus only of the Midnight Mommies, but if I’m getting up eight times a night I think it’s just as bad as being awake all night.

    United we can support each other into a semi-standing position . . .

Leave a Reply

