Like I’m Not Already Busy Enough.

Helping your parents get ready to move is taxing both emotionally and physically. Then there are the normal things I am responsible for like making the service sheet for sunday, feeding my family, doing the laundry blah, blah, blah. I’m trying not to whine as I agreed to do all of these things and many of you are in similar boats if not the same crappy canoe that has sprung a leak and now I look like I wet my pants.

Anyway, the end of summer fast approches and so does the season for making salsa. I am tempted to just bag the whole idea and crawl into bed with a good book (know any?), but salsa is a staple in my husbands diet and he goes trough it like a fat kid and a box of smarties. Plus I like to hear the compliments like “Alyson, your salsa is so good.” and “My husband doesn’t like salsa except for yours and well you should bottle this.” forgetting that I did and thats how you are able to have it at your house, it would be so messy otherwise. Hahaha! I’m just teasing. 😉

Well against my better judgement I am about to share the recipe and host a salsa making day for all of those who would like to join me. I’m thinking in about 2 or 3 weeks. So those of you who are interested better purchase your jars (superstore is a good place) and stock up on your ingredients and tools. If you are interested please email me at alyson(underscore)sharp(at)yahoo(dot)ca.

And now for the recipe:
Ingedients

10 lbs tomatoes
8 Mild peppers
12-16 Hot peppers
3 Cups chopped onion
4 Bell Peppers
4 Teaspoons minced garlic
2 (5 ½ oz) cans tomato paste
1 ½ Cups Pickling vinegar
2 Tablespoons Pickling salt
6 Tablespoons sugar
4 Teaspoons paprika
1 Cup minced cilantro (optional)

Method

Skin, seed core and chop tomatoes. Put in a heavy bottomed pan. Seed and core peppers. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil (medium high heat). Then turn down to simmer uncovered (~ 1 hour). When reached desired consistency
put into hot sterilized jars, wipe rim, and screw on ring to finger tight,
then process for :
20 minutes for (500ml) pint size
25 minutes for (1Liter) quart size

Note : If you want hotter salsa, add more hot peppers and don’t seed and core because that is where all the heat is.

10 lbs makes about “4” Quart (1Liter) jars

6 thoughts on “Like I’m Not Already Busy Enough.

  1. I’m there!

    (oh, wait, I guess I can’t make it. 2 weeks from now I’ll still be here. sigh) Thanks for the recipe, every once in a while I get a box of tomatoes and there’s only so much marinara sauce a person should have in her freezer!

  2. I bet Ches would love it if I made your salsa. Not going to happen though. I’m just not the salsa making kind of person. We’ll just have to keep buying it. If I lived near you, I’d so be there to make it, though, and then I’d have a very happy hubby. Oh well. Life’s tough all over, huh?

  3. I have never tried to freeze it. i don’t know but it seems to have a lot of the same ingredients that spagetti sauce has and I’ve frozen that, but spagetti sauce gets heated up. I wonder. I might try a small amount to see.

Leave a Reply

