Awake and Arise

Lately I have been waking up at 4:00am. For some reason my eyes open and I am awake. There is no transition from sleep to awakening. No metaphorical fog to lift. I am just awake. I start thinking of all the things I have to do and I can’t go back to sleep no matter how hard I try. Today, instead of lying there with my futile attempt to sleep, I got up. I did a load of laundry, dishes made lunches, muffins and showered all before my family got up at 6:30am. It was a productive morning and I didn’t feel rushed. It was nice but I don’t think I would like to do that every morning. My sleep is just too high on my priority list. I expect to be hitting the wall at around 2:00pm, right when I need my second wind.

2 thoughts on “Awake and Arise

  1. no kidding! my son wakes up so early, but rather than being happy about the time I have been given to get things done I’m grumpy and don’t accomplish anything… Good for you for getting things done!

Leave a Reply

